Daily Writing Prompt 03/08/14: Shame, I am Mom

Provoked on purpose

I join the dance of anger and bitterness and disappointment.

It’s happened again

Words that discharge with rapid fire like automatic weapons

Like our living room is a battlefield

Like our family is at war

Our words strike like the death adder

Swift and sure

Whether in protection or aggression I’m no longer sure

But either way

I should be the one wise as the serpent and gentle as the dove

Speaking only in love

Because I know

I know what’s expected of me.

And I hang my head in confusion

and shame

I have not lived up to my name

I am mom

 

Leave a Reply

