Moving On…well, sort of

Sunday evening and I am just now checking in on the progress, or lack thereof, of Mr. Deer Head. He is quite imperfect much to my chagrin, but I think I have the neck and nose right finally. Here is what he looks like right now-

IMG_1998           IMG_1999

I beefed up the neck and added some bulk to the nose. Before he looked like a prize-fighter whose nose had been broken one too many times. There are still many imperfections and since I am the creator of this handsome lad, there will likely always be imperfections, but I’m learning to be okay with it. My next step is the final layer of paper mache before the painting begins. I had hoped to be finished by now but my daughter turned 17 this week and we had birthday goings on all week it seems. Our youngest turns 16 in August so I will be finishing this before then for sure. Sorry there isn’t more progress to offer, however, since I am here I’ll tell you what the Deer Head has me thinking about lately…

Things aren’t always what they seem: I was up in the wee hours due to insomnia and the bad habit of drinking like a gallon of water before I go to bed, and as I added another layer to this handsome guy I realized that by the time I’m finished with him, no one will know exactly what is inside of him.

Some people think of a wire armature or a balloon when they think of paper mache. Others may have another idea of what is inside and may not imagine that this guy is full of empty soda bottles, Styrofoam cups, discarded newspaper, and bits of glue from bottles that were almost empty or dry, but the point is, we all think about things from our own perspective based on what we have been taught, have seen, have had a personal history with.

It is sort of the same with people, ya know? We see people based more on our understanding than their journey. I mean, When most people look at me now, they don’t see the broken young woman that I was a mere 25 or 30 years ago. They don’t see homeless, hungry, promiscuous, or abused, but I have been all of those things. No one who meets me these days sees me as vibrant and healthy and strong, but I was all of those things too and all of those are in there, if only as memories. I’m happy to say that I have been redeemed and saved from the person I was as a child and a youth, and sad to say that as my health has declined so has my energy and abilities, but that doesn’t mean those things didn’t help shape me.

Maybe that is why I like crafting so much; I get to use things that have been used up and discarded in a way that makes them beautiful and valuable again.

God did that for me when I received Jesus as my savior. I felt used up, worthless, and without value but through His love and grace He changed me. I know I have value now. I know I have worth. He uses cracked pot and broken vessels to do good things and I know because He has used me in many ways. I’m thankful. I’m blessed. And I love these early morning talks I get to have with my Savior and Redeemer, especially when He uses something like a bunch of paper and glue to teach me about myself, and other people, and His love.

So, hopefully, I will figure out how to apply these lessons more readily in my life because while my Creator is perfect, I am still, much like my deer, a work in progress.

Till next time, peace to you all. And love.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Moving On…well, sort of

  1. I love how in everything you do, you weave God into it. I’m not as faith based as I wish I was, but I love what you said about how you’re better now than you were before. I can completely agree with that. I still have a long way to go, but it’s a start. 🙂

    • You’ll get there! Just don’t give up. 🙂
      Philippians 1:6 being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.

Leave a Reply

